Welcome to the World of Bill Prosperi

The misadventures of a pint sized man.

  • Randomness of Life, well of mine at least.

Why I Do Not Grow a Stache for Movember

Posted by Bill Prosperi on November 29, 2010

While October is Breast Cancer Awareness month, November is often known as Movember to draw awareness to Prostate Cancer in men. During October, Pink is the theme and for Movember, men grow out their mustaches.  Thanks to an unfortunate event in my young life, I grow two half mustaches that are not a pretty sight, due to a scar that goes from my lip to my nose.

It was the summer before my eighth grade year and we went camping. This was not just a family outing, it was a trip to our Church’s Young Womens outing.  I was a teenage boy going through puberty surrounded by like age and older teenage girls.  This was supposed to be a week of fun. It was not.  The second day of this week long event turned out to be one of the most physically painful days of my life.   While everyone had gone off to the beach, I decided to stay behind at camp. I soon got bored and decided to ride my bike to the beach.   On route to the beach was a long downhill descent. A very long steep downhill descent. At least that is what it seemed to me and I was ready for the challenge and the speed I was about to reach.  The movie American Flyers was playing in my head.  Then my head hit a minivan. A Chevy Astro van.  To this day I do not remember coming down that hill or ever seeing that van parked on the side of the road.  All I remember was hitting it at full speed and just missing putting my head through the rear driver’s side window.   Escaping with no broken bones, I did split my upper lip, severely sprain my right wrist and shoulder, which still bother me, took the skin off both my shoulders and took lots of tissue off the top of my left hand.  I was hurt pretty good and wisely just went back to camp to seek treatment.  How did I get back to camp? The van with the girls from the camp we were in, was on its way back.  Pure luck.

The truely lucky part was that I was able to eventually walk away and live on with out much issue.  That is not always the case for those that these two months are meant to support.  Cancer is no stranger to my family. I have lost many loved ones to this undiscriminating disease, one recently being an uncle to prostate cancer.  One of the most emotionally painful days in my life came just a few years ago, November 24th, 2003.  That day I was a pal bearer in one of the hardest funerals I have ever sat through.  My young cousin, Kayliegh, lost her battle with nueroblastoma.   My Grandmother also lost her battle with cancer around Thanksgiving several years before that.  I almost did not bother with the trip back home from college that year.  I was glad that I did, cause I was able to see her one last time before she passed.

So while I do not grow a mustache to show support and raise awareness for Movember, I do try to do many other things to show my support for such worthy causes. I do believe that one day science will grant us the elusive cure for cancer but until then, it is up to us to do what ever we can.  To all those that do take the time to grow a mustache, my hat is off to you and thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
