Welcome to the World of Bill Prosperi

The misadventures of a pint sized man.

  • Randomness of Life, well of mine at least.

The Tires are Not the Only Wheels Spinning…..

Posted by Bill Prosperi on January 29, 2011

It is January 29, 2011. A Saturday this year that brings the beginning of something special for me, the start of the 2011 racing season.  It is not just special because I am a motor sports junkie, but the fun of watching Little Man sit in awe as the cars fly around the track.  Today is the 24 Hours of Daytona, a race we both look forward to since the time the last races took place back in October and November.

Currently the previously mentioned monster has two Hot Wheels and is running around the living room, cars on the hardwood floor, shouting out race commentary and anxiously awaiting the start of the race.   I sit here in front of a computer to quickly type out a bunch of thoughts streaming through my head.  Motor sports and cars are ingrained in my DNA, I believe.  As a young kid, I have vivid memories of watching NASCAR with my father and grandfather on Sunday afternoons as our entire family invaded my grandparent’s house for Sunday dinner.  There were the stories of my Uncle Junior who was a local drag strip ‘champion’ when he was in his youth.  I never made it to a race as a kid but the time spent with my father as we watched them was just as awesome.  The time I spend now with the kids as we watch is as equally awesome.  Kid Kid is now more into more girly things and does not sit with me anymore to watch but she does do a good job pretending to care. Little Man knows that I am a big fan of Mazda a will root for them with me but if there is a McDonalds sponsored car, its all over.  (If the that car was white and green like their sweet and sour sauce packets, he would probably rip the hood off and dip his chicken nuggets in the engine. )  With the rule of thumb being to try and do one better than what you had as a kid, I hope to take Little Man to as many races as I can.  We have hopefully started a tradition of going to Mid-Ohio every year for the Emco Gears Classic where the Grand Am series races for the weekend.  The kids and I made it last year and it was a time I will never forget.  Now that I know which kid loves the races and which one does not, we plan on becoming regulars at Mid-Ohio and visit some of the many SCAA and NASA events that happen there.  First up this year, may be a large NASA Mazda meet in April. Time will tell though, it is still a few months away and anything can happen.

So while the wheels of the cars spin around the track, I can guarantee that the wheels in Little Man’s head (as well as mine) will be spinning with dreams of not just watching the race but being in the car.  The imagination of Little Man has a leg up on mine but I can still get it done.  So as we all sit around a TV at some point this year to watch a race, try to watch with the imagination of a 5 year old.  The fascination doubles and the excitement will go off the chart.  As an adult it is too easy to start examining why the Porsche was just passed by an M6 or why the RX-8 does not have the speed on the long straight as it did during hour 3.  That only takes away from the fun that this is meant to be.

Time to go, I am being told the race is about to start. Best of luck to all the teams but it’s all about the Zoom Zoom for me.

(The car featured above is the Mazda RX-8 of Riley Racing who competes in the Street Tuner class of the Continental Tire Challenge series, a Rolex Grand-Am series.  A.J. and Jameson are a couple of great guys who I enjoy talking to on Twitter and FaceBook.  Best of luck to them this season! )

3 Responses to “The Tires are Not the Only Wheels Spinning…..”

  1. […] Original Article […]

  2. […] Source Article […]

  3. […] The Tires are Not the Only Wheels Spinning….. « Welcome to the … […]

Leave a Reply

 
